RSS Feed

Epiphany

Posted on

Recently it has been brought to my attention that I am a negative person. I’ve always known this; It’s never been a secret. But for some reason, someone decided to point this out to me, explain to me that no one likes me, and try to offer “help.” Here’s the problem with that. I don’t care. I see nothing wrong with me. I didn’t ask for help, and I certainly didn’t want “help.” I like myself. I like my life. I like my friends. What is so wrong about that?

It was said, “God Sarah, you’re such a fucking hipster.” Uhm…okay? I thought everyone established this in high school. I don’t see a bad thing about it. “You’re so different.” Yeah. I am. And I like it that way. I don’t want to be like anyone else. I am my own person and it has always been that way. I don’t do things I don’t like. I don’t keep things in my life that make me unhappy. Why would I? That’s just stupid. So what if I think flip-flops are stupid? It’s my own opinion! You are entitled to your own opinion too. I can write whatever I want. I don’t do it to get “haters,” as I was falsely accused of, I do it because I like it. I like expressing my strong opinions. You don’t have to agree with my opinion, but you could at least respect it. Someone posted on my last post, “Dear Sarah, Everyone is mocking your blog, making YOU look more stupid than YOU already do. From, the world.” That’s great. I don’t care. I didn’t need to hear that you don’t like it. If you don’t like it, don’t read it! No one is forcing you to! And just because you have a shitty life doesn’t mean that you need to take it out on someone else. That is just bullshit.

I like the friends I have. I don’t need advice about how to make friends. I already have friends! And I’ll make friends if, and when I want to! In my own way! I’m not going to change who I am to satisfy others. That goes against everything I believe in and won’t happen.

For about 12 hours, I was really worked up about this shit, then I realized how stupid it was. *Epiphany*

So here is the lesson in all of this. Be your own person. Don’t let people tell you how to live your life. If you like your friends, keep ’em! Do what makes you happy, and don’t let people tell you that you’re wrong. Fuck it!  YOLO! They’ll end up unhappy, not you. If you view the glass half empty instead of the glass half full (which are both wrong. The glass is always full. 1/2 with liquid and 1/2 with gas), good for you! You have your own special way of looking at the world. It doesn’t have to be the same as everyone elses view. It’s your own. It makes you an individual. I don’t know about you, but I think that is something to strive for.

Sarah.

PS. Think I’m a Negative Nelly? I don’t care. I’m not a fucking CareBear. (Lawlz. I could be a rapper.).

About popsickles

As Photo Editor for my school Newspaper, I'm working to become a professional photographer. If you're interested in my work, contact me at sickles_sarah@yahoo.com.

Leave a comment